University of Lavingtonia Courses



Below are courses offered at the University of Lavingtonia,Malawi


It offers the following programmes:

  • Bachelor of Education in Humanities
  • Bachelor of Education in Sciences
  • Bachelor of Education in Information and Communication Technology (ICT)
  • The University Certificate of Education


The Faculty of Theology is offered at Ekwendeni Campus, 38 kilometres North of Mzuzu City. The Faculty has been part of the University since its inception in 2003. It offers the following post-graduate programmes:

  • Masters in Theology and Religious Studies
  • Masters in Theology and Gender Studies
  • Masters in Theology and Development Studies

The Faculty also offers the following undergraduate programmes:

  • Bachelor of Theology
  • Bachelor of Social Sciences, Development Studies
  • Bachelor of Social Sciences, in Human Rights
  • Bachelor of Theology by Distance Learning
  • Bachelor of Theology and Development Studies
  • Diploma in Theology


The Faculty of Social Sciences is offered at Ekwendeni Campus. The Faculty aims at equipment students with analytical and practical skills in socio economic issues, including development, economic management, human rights, gender issues, business entrepreneurship, politics, democracy and governance with a view to make a significant contribution in dealing with the numerous soci economic challenges facing the country.

Programmes offered

Currently the Faculty has one department, the Development Studies and Human Rights. The Department is subdivided into two sections:

  • Bachelor of Social Sciences in Development Studies
  • Bachelor of Social Sciences in Human Rights

Faculty of Applied Sciences

The Faculty of Applied Sciences is offered at Laws Campus, Livingstonia Plateau, three hours drive North of Mzuzu City. The Faculty trains students to acquire professional skills for various employment opportunities in Malawi. The progammes are designed to meet the needs of professionals in both industry and society.

It has four programmes, namely:

  • Bachelor of Computer Engineering
  • Bachelor of Food Security and Nutrition
  • Bachelor of Environmental Management
  • Bachelor of Public Health